Posted in Accolades, football, Premier League, sport

The PFA Player of the Year accolades preview…

The PFA Player of the Year award awaits for only nine days longer with all of Alexis Sanchez, Eden Hazard, Romelu Lukaku, N’Golo Kante, Harry Kane and Zlatan Ibrahimovic got their eyes firmly on the trophy. But only one will take the accolade home…

Around this time last year, Leicester were sat comfortably at the summit however despite that, many doubts were casted about whether they could actually complete the job. But as things turned out they won the league with a secure 10 points gap ahead of second place Arsenal. At the time, Jamie Vardy and Riyad Mahrez were strong favourites to win the player of the season award. Both were scintillating throughout the course of the 2015-16 season however it was Mahrez who gained the slighter edge over his team-mate to become the first Muslim to win the award.

This time around, it’s a complete different story as Leicester look destined to do what Chelsea did last year- to completely fail in defending their title as they now lie 11th in the table but at least relegation is saved for now…

Back to the awards now…

N’Golo Kante- Chelsea


It had always looked a danger on whether Kante would be able to live up to his 30 million price tag and cement a starting place in the Chelsea team but as things turn out to be, it looks like Kante has nothing to fear after yet another splendid season in the Premier League. After making his international breakthrough at the Euros, Kante was looking to take to the next level by securing a move to a ‘top-level club’ and the best destination for that: Chelsea. Incoming manager Antonio Conte at the time saw his 30 million fee as a ‘bargain’ at the time and rightly so when you compare him to a 89 million Paul Pogba. From what we’ve seen this season, without a doubt, N’Golo Kante leads a strong position to winning the accolade…

Alexis Sanchez – Arsenal


Well many times this season, we have seen Alexis Sanchez cut a frustrated figure at the expense of Arsenal’s woes this season but maybe this might be the time when we see a smile on the Chilean’s face if he does after all end up winning the award. Like Kante, Sanchez is also in a strong position to win the award after his many goals and assists he has provided his side with. Perhaps without Sanchez and Koscielny, Arsenal’s situation could have been even more worse than it already is…and saying that, Arsenal have proved to very much be two or three man team this season…

Zlatan Ibrahimovic- Manchester Unitedzlatan

Perhaps one of the best veteran strikers of all time, a free transfer from PSG has very much proved to be a bargain for Manchester United with 17 Premier League goals for the free price. The Swede has proved to be instrumental in games when United have lacked a cutting edge over their opponents, still nonetheless there have been games when Ibrahimovic has been kept quiet especially those against the bottom half teams. But with Zlatan in firm contention for the Golden Boot alongside the likes of Harry Kane and Romelu Lukaku- it’s no surprise why he is on the six-man shortlist for the player of the season award.

Harry Kane- Tottenham Hotspurharry against arsenal

Though probably the least of players to be on the shortlist, Harry Kane has still nevertheless had an excellent season for the club though it is true that Dele Alli should have been on the list rather than his team-mate. Kane has netted a couple of hat-tricks this season and has become more lethal and clinical then ever before but I just don’t see this award going to him when you compare him to the others on the shortlist.

Romelu Lukaku- EvertonEverton v Sunderland - Premier League

When you look at the potential and quality this player has, you wonder why he is still at a club of Everton. But it’s always the question on whether he can perform at bigger clubs or not because it would be a shame if we did see him go to a club of the heights of Chelsea or Manchester United but then not get a game and sit on the bench all the time.  This season Lukaku has been like a house ablaze with a league high of 23 goals, four ahead of his nearest achiever Harry Kane. As well as that, Lukaku has also improved on his finishing and now he is undeniably better than ever before…take a bow Romelu Lukaku

Eden Hazard- Chelseaeden-hazard-celebrates-goal-3-1

A season of rejuvenation as many will recall for both Eden Hazard and Chelsea as they look set to claim the Premier League title for the 4th time in eleven years. One of the players who failed to show up during Chelsea’s invisible season of 2015-16, Hazard has arguably had his best season yet with 14 Premier League goals to his name so far this season. Questions were pondering on whether Diego Costa should have had his name on the shortlist however the Spaniard was unable to replicate his brilliant scoring record in the second half of the season. Though not as many goals compared to Costa, Hazard has remained consistent and has performed throughout the season unlike Costa.

Good luck to all players for the award, it should be a very close contest…

Winner to be announced on 23rd April

2 thoughts on “The PFA Player of the Year accolades preview…

  1. I think the fight is between Kante and Lukaku as they both have made significant contributions for their respective teams. I think Zlatan and Alexis fall short mainly because of the inconsistency of the teams they play for


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s